Guide · Updated 2026-11-01
Hair transplant cost in the US (2026): per-graft prices, minimums and real quotes
US clinics rarely advertise one all-in package. They price per graft, set minimum fees, and charge differently by technique. Here is what 10 sourced US prices show.
- $6.50median starting $/graft
- $3.95–$9.00starting $/graft range
- $9,000median stated minimum/total
- 10US prices in our data
The short answer
Among the 10 US clinics in our database that state a per-graft price, the median starting price is $6.50 per graft, and starting prices run from $3.95–$9.00. On our cost-by-country ranking the US is the most expensive of the 9 countries we rank. Its median is about 3.8× Turkey's and 4.9× Mexico's.
Only 4 US sources state a total or a minimum fee, with a median of $9,000. That's a small sample, so treat it as a rough marker, not an average.
US clinic prices, sorted by starting price per graft
| Clinic | City | Technique | Price (original) | ≈ USD | ≈ $/graft | Grafts | Included | Type | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maxim Hair RestorationThird-party citation | New York, NY | FUE | $3.95–$6.00 | not stated | Published | AsiaPatient (citing clinic) 2026-09-21 | |||
| Nova MedicalThird-party citation | New York, NY | FUE | $3.99–$7.99 | not stated | Published | AsiaPatient (citing clinic) 2026-09-21 | |||
| Houston Hair Transplant Center'As low as $4.50' per FUE graft | Houston, TX | FUE (NeoGraft) | from $4.50 | not stated | Published | Clinic website 2026-11-01 | |||
| Armani Medical$10,500 up to 1,000 grafts, ~$5 per extra graft; FUT $9,500-21,500 | Dallas, TX | FUE | from $10,500 | from $10,500 | $5.00–$10.50 | 1,000+ | Follow-ups for 36 months | Published | Clinic website 2026-11-01 |
| Carolina Hair SurgeryMinimum $6,000 | Charlotte, NC | FUE | from $6,000 | from $6,000 | $6.00 | 1,000+ | 6- and 12-month follow-ups | Published | Clinic website 2026-11-01 |
| Golden State Hair TransplantFUT $5/graft | Pleasant Hill, CA | FUE | $7.00 | not stated | Published | Clinic website 2026-11-01 | |||
| BKS Hair RestorationFrom $7/graft | Philadelphia, PA | FUE | from $7.00 | not stated | Published | Clinic website 2026-11-01 | |||
| Northwestern Hair$7,500 minimum; $5/graft in their studio tier; up to $28 for long-hair | Chicago, IL | FUE | from $7,500 | from $7,500 | $7.00 | not stated | Published | Clinic website 2026-06 | |
| Jae Pak MDFUE $9, long-hair FUE $12, FUT $7 | Los Angeles, CA | FUE | $9.00 | not stated | Published | Clinic website 2026-11-01 |
“Third-party citation” rows come from a price guide quoting the clinic, not the clinic's own page.
Three things that move a US quote
1. Minimum fees
Several US clinics set a floor regardless of graft count. Carolina Hair Surgery lists $6 per graft with a $6,000 minimum. Northwestern Hair lists a $7,500 minimum. Armani Medical prices $10,500 for up to 1,000 grafts and about $5 for each extra graft. A small procedure can cost much more per graft than the headline rate.
2. Technique
Where US clinics list both, strip surgery (FUT) is priced below FUE per graft. Jae Pak MD lists FUE at $9, long-hair FUE at $12, and FUT at $7. Golden State Hair Transplant lists FUE at $7 and FUT at $5. Armani Medical lists FUT packages at $9,500–21,500. More on this in FUE vs DHI vs FUT cost.
3. Tiers and add-ons
Northwestern Hair publishes a lower $5-per-graft "studio" tier and a long-hair option at up to $28 per graft. The same clinic can produce very different quotes depending on what you ask for. Follow-ups vary too: Carolina Hair Surgery lists 6- and 12-month follow-ups and Armani Medical lists 36 months. Many sources don't say.
What a real US quote looked like
| Clinic | City | Technique | Price (original) | ≈ USD | ≈ $/graft | Grafts | Included | Type | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unnamed US clinic | FUE | $16,000 | $16,000 | $8.00 | 2,000 | not stated | Patient quote | Reddit (public patient post) 2026-07 |
A patient publicly shared a quote of $16,000 for 2,000 grafts ($8 per graft). That's above the median starting price, which is normal: starting prices are floors. One quote isn't a trend, so if you've had a US consultation, please add your quote. It's anonymous, and we review it by hand.
A worked illustration (not a quote)
2,500 grafts at the US median starting price of $6.50 is about $16,250. The same count at Turkey's median ($1.72) is about $4,298, and at Mexico's median ($1.32) about $3,300. This is arithmetic on medians, not an offer. Minimum fees, technique, and the graft count a doctor recommends all change the real number.
Why people still pay US prices
Staying home has costs that are easy to undercount when you go abroad: no flights or hotel, follow-up visits with the same team, and recourse under US law and medical licensing if something goes wrong. Whatever you choose, the question professional bodies push hardest is who actually performs each step of the surgery. The ISHRS describes this as a problem worldwide, not only abroad (ISHRS Fight the FIGHT: hair transplant black market red flags). Our quote comparison checklist lists the questions to ask.
Insurance, financing and HSAs
Hair transplants are generally treated as cosmetic, so plan on paying cash. Many US clinics advertise financing. Compare the APR as part of the total cost, because a 0% promo that resets can add more than the gap between two clinics. Whether an HSA or FSA can be used depends on your plan administrator's rules, so ask them before you assume.
Next: see every US clinic price, or compare against Turkey, Mexico and the UK.
