Guide · Updated 2026-11-01
Mexico vs Turkey vs Colombia: hair transplant cost compared
For US patients the three big options are Mexico (a short flight or a drive to Tijuana), Turkey (the biggest market) and Colombia (Bogotá and Medellín). This compares them using only sourced prices from our database.
Side by side
| Country | Median starting $/graft | $/graft range | Median starting package | Package range | Prices | Patient quotes | State inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mexico | $1.32 n=7 | $0.73–$3.77 | $3,498 n=16 | $1,161–$5,290 | 17 | 2 | 2 |
| Turkey | $1.72 n=12 | $1.15–$3.44 | $2,831 n=16 | $2,063–$8,354 | 23 | 4 | 10 |
| Colombia | $1.47 n=6 | $1.07–$1.84 | $2,818 n=11 | $1,500–$8,000 | 13 | 1 | 1 |
“n” is how many prices each median is based on. Starting price is the lowest price each clinic publishes. USD conversions use fixed rates (see methodology).
On median starting price per graft, Mexico ($1.32) and Colombia ($1.47) come in slightly under Turkey ($1.72). On median starting package, Colombia ($2,818) and Turkey ($2,831) are close, while Mexico is higher at $3,498. The per-graft medians rest on small samples (7, 6 and 12 clinics), so treat a gap of a few cents as a tie. All three are far below the US median of $6.50 per graft.
Mexico: priced like a product menu
11 of the 17 Mexican prices are from Tijuana clinics, which market heavily to Southern California. Most Mexican clinics price in US dollars and sell tiers. Baja Hair Center lists Bronze at $3,950 for 3,000 grafts, with Gold and Platinum tiers above it. Hair Transplant Mexico lists $2,750 for 2,500 FUE grafts and $3,750 for 3,500 NeoGraft grafts, which are among the lowest published per-graft prices in the three countries.
| Clinic | City | Technique | Price (original) | ≈ USD | ≈ $/graft | Grafts | Included | Type | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baja Hair Center (Dra Sara Salas)Bronze $3,950 for 3,000 grafts; Gold $4,500; Platinum $6,500; Diamond $9,500 | Tijuana | FUE | $3,950–$9,500 | $3,950–$9,500 | from $1.32 | 3,000+ | not stated | Published | ClinicTrue clinic directory 2026-10-26 |
| Hair Transplant Mexico$2,750 for 2,500 FUE; $3,750 for 3,500 NeoGraft | Tijuana | FUE/Robotic FUE | $2,750–$3,750 | $2,750–$3,750 | $1.07–$1.10 | 2,500–3,500 | not stated | Published | ClinicTrue clinic directory 2026-10-26 |
| Hair Medical Restoration (HMR)$2.30 × 2,300 grafts | Tijuana | FUE | $5,290 | $5,290 | $2.30 | 2,300 | not stated | Patient quote | Reddit (public patient post) 2025-03 |
| Esthetic HairFlat price | Cancún | FUE | $3,500 | $3,500 | $0.83 | 4,200 | not stated | Patient quote | Reddit (public patient post) 2026-04 |
The two Mexican patient quotes show the range: $5,290 for 2,300 grafts at HMR ($2.30/graft) versus a flat $3,500 for 4,200 grafts in Cancún. Only 2 Mexican rows state inclusions. If you're flying in, ask directly about hotel and transfers. Don't assume Turkish-style bundles.
Turkey: bundles and volume
Turkey has the most data of the three (23 prices) and the most bundled packages: 8 Turkish rows mention a hotel and 4 mention PRP. That makes Turkish packages look cheap next to Mexico's surgery-only prices. Compare the surgery part separately. Full detail is in our Turkey cost guide.
Colombia: pesos, ranges and fewer bundles
10 of the 13 Colombian prices are listed in Colombian pesos, and many are ranges rather than fixed packages. CapilClinic lists COP 9.99M for 2,000 grafts. Mediarte in Bogotá lists COP 17.5M for 3,000 grafts. At the high end, Be Dharma in Medellín lists a robotic (ARTAS) package at $8,000.
| Clinic | City | Technique | Price (original) | ≈ USD | ≈ $/graft | Grafts | Included | Type | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CapilClinic ColombiaCOP 9.99M for 2,000 grafts | Bogotá | FUE | COP 5,000,000–COP 19,990,000 | $1,532–$6,123 | $1.53–$1.53 | 1,000–4,000 | not stated | Published | ClinicTrue clinic directory 2026-10-26 |
| MediarteCOP 17.5M for 3,000 grafts | Bogotá | FUE | COP 17,500,000 | $5,360 | $1.07–$2.14 | 3,000 | not stated | Published | ClinicTrue clinic directory 2026-09-30 |
| Hair Medical Care | Bogotá | DHI | COP 18,000,000 | $5,513 | $1.72 | 3,200 | Meds, follow-ups, PRP | Patient quote | Reddit (public patient post) 2025-12 |
| Be Dharma HairARTAS robotic package (COP 25M) | Medellín | Robotic FUE | $8,000 | $8,000 | not stated | Published | ClinicTrue clinic directory 2026-10-27 |
The one Colombian patient quote, at Hair Medical Care, was COP 18M for 3,200 DHI grafts (about $5,513), including meds, follow-ups and PRP. Peso prices move with the exchange rate, so the dollar figure on your quote day may differ from ours.
How to choose between them (cost side only)
- Total trip cost, not sticker price. For many US patients, Mexico's lower travel cost can outweigh Turkey's bundled hotel. Price the flights and nights for your own city.
- Ask for a per-graft number and a graft cap, whichever country you choose. That's the only way to compare a Tijuana tier, an Istanbul package and a Bogotá range on equal terms.
- Ask what happens after you fly home. Follow-up is listed by only a handful of clinics in any of the three countries.
- Check who operates. The ISHRS's black-market warnings apply in every market (ISHRS Fight the FIGHT: hair transplant black market red flags). See our quote checklist.
Common questions
Is the cheapest country always the cheapest trip?
No. The medians above cover the clinic price only. Flights, nights away and time off work depend on where you live, and they can reverse the order.
Why do some medians rest on so few prices?
Many clinics publish a package price or a range but no per-graft price, and we only show per-graft figures the source states or that can be worked out exactly. Every number above shows its sample size so you can judge it.
Browse the full lists for Mexico, Turkey and Colombia, or see where they sit in the full country ranking. Got a quote from any of them? Share it.
