Guide · Updated 2026-11-03
Hair transplant cost in the UK (2026): per-graft prices, packages and a real quote
UK clinics price hair transplants three different ways: per graft, in graft-capped packages, and as a wide "from £X to £Y" range. That makes quotes hard to compare. Here is what 12 sourced UK prices show, in pounds and dollars.
- $3.69median starting $/graft
- £1.50–£3.17starting £/graft range
- 12UK prices in our data
- 1patient-reported quotes
The short answer
Among the 7 UK prices in our database that state or imply a per-graft price, starting prices run from £1.50 to £3.17 per graft, with a median of about £2.76 ($3.69). Where clinics publish a starting total, the median is about £4,250 ($5,678, n=10). Dollar figures use the fixed rate on our methodology page (£1 ≈ $1.336).
That puts the UK's median per-graft price below the US ($6.50) and above Turkey ($1.72). On our cost-by-country ranking the UK is #7 of 9 countries with at least five prices.
UK clinic prices, sorted by starting price per graft
| Clinic | City | Technique | Price (original) | ≈ USD | ≈ $/graft | Grafts | Included | Type | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hair Repair Clinic£1.5/graft, up to 4,000 grafts per session; typical total £3,500–£5,500 | London / Nottingham | FUE | £3,500–£5,500 | $4,676–$7,348 | $2.00 | not stated | Published | Trikkos clinic directory 2026-11-03 | |
| Renew Hair Clinic | Leamington Spa | FUE | $2.67 | not stated | Published | Trikkos clinic directory 2026-11-01 | |||
| British Hair Clinics£2/graft; example £5,000 for 2,500 grafts | Brentwood | FUE | £5,000 | $6,680 | $2.67 | 2,500 | not stated | Published | Trikkos clinic directory 2026-11-01 |
| Westminster Medical GroupThird-party citation | London | FUE | £6,900 | $9,218 | $3.69 | 2,500 | not stated | Published | AsiaPatient (citing clinic) 2026-09-21 |
| Dr Bonaros | Glasgow | FUE | $4.01 | not stated | Published | Trikkos clinic directory 2026-11-01 | |||
| The Mittal Clinic£3,500 for 1,000 then £3/graft | London | FUE | £3,500–£9,500 | $4,676–$12,692 | $4.24–$4.68 | 1,000–3,000 | not stated | Published | Trikkos clinic directory 2026-11-01 |
| Fortes Clinic | London | FUE | from £2,000 | from $2,672 | not stated | Published | Trikkos clinic directory 2026-11-01 | ||
| Hair Transplant Group£2,500 up to 3,000 grafts; £3,500 up to 5,000 | London | FUE | £2,500–£3,500 | $3,340–$4,676 | up to 5,000 | not stated | Published | Trikkos clinic directory 2026-11-01 | |
| FKS ClinicMicro Sapphire FUE £2,999 (≤3,000 grafts) / £3,599 (≤5,000); DHI £3,899 / £4,799; plus £200 arrangement fee on every package (total payable £3,199–£4,999); doctor consultation £100, deducted if you proceed | London | Sapphire FUE/DHI | £2,999–£4,799 | $4,007–$6,411 | up to 5,000 | not stated | Published | Clinic website 2026-11-03 | |
| The D'Souza Clinic | London | FUE | £5,000–£10,000 | $6,680–$13,360 | not stated | Published | Trikkos clinic directory 2026-11-01 | ||
| Dr Mark Tam | London | FUE | £5,400–£7,600 | $7,214–$10,154 | not stated | Published | Trikkos clinic directory 2026-11-01 |
USD values are approximate conversions. “Third-party citation” = a price guide quoting the clinic, not the clinic's own page. Graft counts are shown only where the source states them.
Three ways UK clinics price, and what 2,500–3,000 grafts costs at each
1. Per graft
Hair Repair Clinic lists £1.50 per graft, British Hair Clinics and Renew Hair Clinic list £2, and Dr Bonaros lists £3. British Hair Clinics gives its own example: £5,000 for 2,500 grafts. Some per-graft clinics add a minimum: The Mittal Clinic charges £3,500 for the first 1,000 grafts and £3 for each graft after that, and gives the example of £9,500 for 3,000 grafts.
2. Graft-capped packages
FKS Clinic prices Micro Sapphire FUE at £2,999 for up to 3,000 grafts and £3,599 for up to 5,000, and DHI at £3,899 and £4,799 for the same caps. Every package has a £200 arrangement fee on top, so the total payable runs from £3,199 to £4,999 (Clinic website, page last updated 2026-11-03). Hair Transplant Group lists £2,500 for up to 3,000 grafts and £3,500 for up to 5,000; its directory listing says it works with a partner clinic in Turkey (Trikkos clinic directory). With a cap, the price stays the same until you cross it. Ask how many grafts you are actually likely to get, not just the ceiling.
3. Wide ranges
Several clinics publish only a range: Dr Mark Tam £5,400–£7,600, The D'Souza Clinic £5,000–£10,000 "depending on the number of grafts required", Hair Repair Clinic £3,500–£5,500, and Fortes Clinic from £2,000. Westminster Medical Group is cited at £6,900 for 2,500 grafts by a third-party price guide (AsiaPatient (citing clinic)). A range tells you the floor and ceiling, not your price.
Same job, very different bills. Using only the clinics' own examples and bands, a session of roughly 2,500–3,000 grafts is listed at £2,500 (Hair Transplant Group, up to 3,000), £3,199 total payable (FKS FUE, up to 3,000, including the £200 fee), £5,000 (British Hair Clinics, 2,500), £6,900 (Westminster Medical Group, 2,500, third-party citation) and £9,500 (The Mittal Clinic, 3,000). That's about a 3.8× spread for a similar graft count. These are list prices, not quotes. Your graft count depends on a doctor's assessment.
What a real UK quote looked like
| Clinic | City | Technique | Price (original) | ≈ USD | ≈ $/graft | Grafts | Included | Type | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unnamed UK clinic | FUE | £5,000 | $6,680 | $4.18 | 1,600 | not stated | Patient quote | Reddit (public patient post) 2026-10 |
A patient publicly shared a UK quote of £5,000 for 1,600 grafts, about £3.13 per graft. That's above the median starting price, which is normal: starting prices are floors. One quote isn't a trend. If you've had a UK consultation, please submit your quote. It's anonymous, and we review every submission by hand before anything is published.
Fees that sit outside the headline price
- Consultations. Dr Mark Tam's listing shows a £180 consultation (Trikkos clinic directory). FKS charges £100 for a doctor consultation, deducted from the treatment cost if you go ahead (Clinic website).
- Arrangement or booking fees. FKS adds £200 to every package, and lists optional "no wait" booking fees of £2,000 on a weekday and £3,000 on a Sunday.
- Medication. Dr Mark Tam's listing shows medication "from £125". If you plan to use finasteride or minoxidil alongside surgery, see our finasteride and minoxidil cost guides (US prices).
- Travel within the UK. Many of the clinics above are in London. If you live elsewhere, add travel and possibly a night's stay.
Our package inclusions guide has a full checklist of what to ask.
Is a hair transplant available on the NHS?
Don't assume it will be. The NHS lists hair transplants among "other possible treatments for hair loss" and notes that some of these treatments may not be available on the NHS. It also says that "not all treatments are available on the NHS, so you may have to pay" (NHS: Hair loss (treatments)). Ask your GP about your own situation.
UK vs going abroad
At the medians, 2,500 grafts comes to about $9,218 in the UK, $4,298 in Turkey and $16,250 in the US. That's simple multiplication of the medians, not a price any clinic offered. Going abroad adds flights, hotel nights and follow-up from a distance. Staying in the UK means follow-up visits nearby and a clinic that UK regulators can inspect. Compare the trade-offs in Turkey hair transplant cost and Mexico vs Turkey vs Colombia.
Checking a UK clinic before you pay
The British Association of Hair Restoration Surgery (BAHRS) says that, in England, providers of hair transplant surgery must be registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) and the surgery must be performed in a CQC-registered facility. It warns that some clinics claim they don't need to be registered because they rent space from a registered organisation, and says it understands this is not legal. In Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, clinics should be registered with Healthcare Improvement Scotland, Healthcare Inspectorate Wales or the RQIA (BAHRS: Regulation of hair restoration surgery in the UK). You can look a clinic up on the Care Quality Commission (CQC) website. As anywhere, ask who will perform each step of the surgery (ISHRS Fight the FIGHT: hair transplant black market red flags). Our quote comparison checklist lists the questions to ask.
Next: browse all UK clinic prices, or compare the UK with the other 28 countries in our data. Listing a clinic here is not an endorsement. We don't take payment from any clinic on this page.
